Tuesday, April 6, 2010

How to fix "You need permission to perform this action" error message

One of the most annoyances of the Microsoft is the error message that occurs in the Windows Vista Operating System rather than occurring in other Operating Systems. One among the error messages is a tight security of the Windows Vista and it creates the “You need permission to perform this action” error message. This error message occurs when you try to open or perform a simple task in the Windows Vista Operating and puts an end for your process. Yes, we know the difficulties as you’re the administrator of the Computer and besides another popup to change the settings of the UAC (User Account Control) even after making the changes. At the same time, you can feel happy as this never happens in a consistent basis, it just pop-ups when you’re trying to delete a folder, trying to copy some files and trying to install a program.



All it happens because of the right security permissions. However, there is something you can do to resolve the issue. If you want to delete a particular file or folder, you can give yourself full control permissions for the file. You may also try another way that might simpler than that.
•    Just click on the Start Button, All Programs, Accessories and then right click on the Command Prompt.
•    Then, choose Run as Administrator.
•    Then, at the Command Prompt, type the following command
net user administrator /active:yes
•    After typing the command press the Enter Key and restart the Computer.
•    Then, try deleting or copying the file.
•    If the issue still persists, follow the following steps to change the file permissions.
•    Right click on the file you want to delete or copy and then select the “Properties”.
•    Then, select the Security Tab.
•    After that click on the Advanced button at the bottom and click on the Owner tab.
•    Then, click on the Edit button.
•    In the Edit button tab, click “other users and groups” and then type your User Account name and click Check Names.
•    After changing the permissions, you can start copying and deleting the folder or a file, you want.

By
,