Tuesday, August 16, 2011

Tips: How to protect yourself from the accidental index removals

Finding a website or its portion has been removed from a search index and it’s a perplexing experience. What if you could help reduce that risk by restricting access to sensitive areas of webmaster tools, and render them “read only” for assigned individuals?
The Webmaster Tools of Bing place exactly that kind of control within reach. By managing user access levels, you can control those who have the full access as an admin and who can read and export the data and who can read only. This is to ensure that the accidental blocks on content folders or even the entire website can’t happen without direct any direct action by a select set of individuals. Our job is ensuring those with full access understand how to use the tools and their functionality. You can start it by selecting the domain you wish to enable levels of user access for. Check on the left hand side to see the Settings: Users option.



Then, click on the Users link to enter the control space.
You can click on the Add User button to add new members and set their level of access control. Then, it is required to sign them up with a LiveID to add them into the control panel if they don’t already have a Hotmail or Live.com mail account.



In order to complete their enrolment, it is required to enter their LiveID email, set the areas of access they can have. Now, you can specify the entire website’s data, narrow it to a subdomain only or even restrict access to data and controls affecting only a folder.
Selecting the levels of access they have from one of the three radio buttons options is the next steps. Now, click Submit for completing the enrolment and for the access to be live. Then, you can remove or modify a person’s access at any time as an Administrator. It’s important that anyone marked as an Administrator understand their roles and the tools themselves.



Therefore, if an admin makes a mistake, there are possibilities for the website of being blocked from the Bing’s index. Therefore, having multiple admins to ensure if one person leaves a role is a good idea. At the same time, it is not required for everyone to be an administrator.  Most of the users of the webmaster account should be set as Read/Modify, in fact.
This will allow the level of access they need to perform daily tasks while ensuring if they move from their role, it is  not possible to log back into the account back and to potentially remove others from the account.

B  y
,